My first quilting adventure

When my husband and I retired in 2006, one of the many activities I wanted to give a try was quilting…I also tried watercolors but just saying that I didn’t have a gift for that is a huge understatement.  Before we moved nearly 300 miles to our retirement home, I went crazy in the fabric store and bought a book and a ton of fabric.  In my absolute ignorance I chose a complicated paper-pieced pattern because it was a clematis (I have been a member of Gardener’s Anonymous for many years with a special affinity for clematis).  Having diligently prewashed the fabric because that’s what the book said to do, I wadded the whole mess up into a box and threw it in the back of the truck.  Once we got settled in our forever home, I pulled out the now hopelessly wrinkled fabric and tried to iron it the best I could, and THEN I READ THE INSTRUCTIONS for the quilt!!   Oh my!!  What the heck is a paper foundation?   God was shining His light on me, though, and somehow I discovered one of the ladies at church was an avid quilter.  I explained my dilemma to Carla, and she (poor girl) volunteered to help me, little realizing how much help I would require.  When she saw the selected pattern, I was afraid I’d have to call 911.  But never one to back away from a challenge, Carla took me under her capable wing and walked me through every step of that nightmare of a quilt.  Being both mathematically and geometrically challenged, I needed hours of handholding, but a year later, I had a beautiful queen-sized clematis quilt….and I was hooked!!!

March 10 09 011<p
Carla also introduced me to a small quilting group in our little rural area. The group was made up of very talented and experienced quilters who were all happy to mentor me. The photo is taken at the quilt show that our group holds every year at the rustic Hall where we meet twice a month to make charity quilts. I’m sure I’ll be talking about my group in future posts. I have never made a paper-pieced quilt since.

7 thoughts on “My first quilting adventure

  1. stitchinggrandma February 12, 2014 / 6:25 pm

    WOW… I didn’t realize where you started!! Holy 4″ squares!!! 🙂 In my case it was 8 1/2 ” squares and it was a very long time before I ventured out into half-square triangles!!

    • oneblockwonderwoman February 13, 2014 / 8:41 pm

      Well, you know me…it’s all or nothing. It was acutally a good place for me to start because now I’m pretty fearless to plunge into the unknown when it comes to quilting. Don’t feel bad about your start. You did things the right way…learning the basics first…and you’ve come a long, long way.

  2. stitchinggrandma February 12, 2014 / 6:26 pm

    Reblogged this on stitchinggrandma and commented:
    If you haven’t had a chance to read posts by oneblockwonderwoman, take time today! She is a new blogger and an experience quilter!! Enjoy

  3. Judy @ GrandparentsPlus2 February 12, 2014 / 10:59 pm

    What an accomplishment and what a gorgeous quilt. That was a tremendous challenge but you certainly conquered it and you must feel tremendously proud of yourself. 🙂

  4. oneblockwonderwoman February 13, 2014 / 8:43 pm

    Thank you for coming to my blog again and for the kind comment. The quilt has turned out to be one of my favorites. The first thing I noticed about you was your clematis picture and knew we had a lot more in common than just quilting. Haven’t had much time to check out your blog, but I hope to do so soon.

  5. LubbyGirl February 14, 2014 / 1:42 am

    I’m clematis-deprived. The deer ate it before it had a chance to get a good start, and then we sold the house and moved. Maybe I’ll find another one to plant at this house, since the deer would have a hard time finding it now. I know they have search parties out right now, but I’ve eluded them. And I absolutely LOVE that quilt!!!

    • oneblockwonderwoman February 14, 2014 / 4:59 pm

      So sorry about your clematis! I know deer love, love, love them, but gophers are my main problem…well that and living in California where they are difficult to grow at best. I keep planting, and they do fine for a few years and then just disappear. But I’ve never backed away from a challenge yet. Definitely give them a try again…a fence is the only thing that keep the deer away, and sometimes they defeat that too. Thank you for reading my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

