A Little Taste of One-Block Wonders

You must be wondering where are all the one-block wonders, so thought I’d post a few of my past projects. This is the original fabric used and the finished quilt called “Krazy for Kats” made for my good friend who really is. Sorry for the poor quality photo, but this is only the second one-blocker I made and my design wall was my dining room window.001Maggie 075
This next one is my all-time favorite and the first time I was brave enough to try free-motion quilting in the big borders. It’s called Blue Bird of Happiness. First the original fabric:
006
Then the quilt:
008
The last one for now was made for my quilting mentor that I mentioned earlier, Carla. She would never make one of these for herself because she doesn’t like having to struggle to line up wonky blocks. Her favorite colors are orange and green. It is called “Just Another Day In Paradise”
The original fabric:
021
And the quilt:
002
You’ll notice in the last one that I discovered the fun of making these quilts asymmetrical. That also works well if you’re short on fabric…I have to post just one more to show you what I mean. This one was for my sister, and she wanted something in blues, pinks and purples. I had this gorgeous Asian print in my stash, but only had six yards and she wanted a Queen-sized quilt, so to make the fabric go farther, I added rows of purple hexagons. I loved this one so much that it was hard to send it off to her. It’s called “I’ll Fly Away”.
010
There is a one-block wonder on my design wall that’s been covered up with a flannel sheet for months because I’ve been too busy to work on it, but I hope to get back to it soon.

11 thoughts on “A Little Taste of One-Block Wonders

      • stitchinggrandma February 17, 2014 / 10:15 pm

        Sure, you bet!! I think you should be getting a bit of traffic by now, and check my blog where they were “reblogged”; as you are getting comments there too. 🙂 You may now fly on your own my fledgling blogger!!!

      • oneblockwonderwoman February 17, 2014 / 3:32 pm

        🙂 I actually got over 200 clicks today!!! I don’t think they weren’t all my own. LOL!

  1. stitchinggrandma February 17, 2014 / 2:51 pm

    Reblogged this on stitchinggrandma and commented:
    OneBlockWonderWOMAN has really done a good job with her posts as a new blogger. Check out her OBW projects. They make me drool. 🙂

  2. Rose Hall Media Company February 17, 2014 / 3:30 pm

    Beautiful! Stunning! Do you have instructions somewhere? Maybe give us a link to them? Thanks!

    • oneblockwonderwoman February 17, 2014 / 10:11 pm

      I recommend Maxine Rosenthal’s Books One-Block Wonders and One-Block Wonders Encore. She does an excellent job of teaching the technique through her books. It nice if you know someone who has actually made one who can walk you through it, but anyone can learn from the book as well.
      Thanks for visiting my blog and the compliments on my efforts.

      • Rose Hall Media Company February 18, 2014 / 8:36 am

        Thank you, will pass that on to the wanna-be quilter on our staff.

  3. Helen February 17, 2014 / 3:48 pm

    Beautiful work!!!! I have the book, I have a fabric I purchased for it, but I haven’t started the quilt. I think you have inspired me to move that project further up on my “to do” list.

    • oneblockwonderwoman February 17, 2014 / 10:04 pm

      Thank you for checking out my blog. I’m glad you feel inspired to try one of these. It’s really addictive (at least to me). One of my favorite features of a OBW is that you never know how its going to look until you start putting pieces on the design wall (highly encourage using a design wall). Its also a lot of fun deciding how to arrange the triangles into hexagon.

Leave a Reply

