048

I’m freshly home from a fabulous 4-day retreat with my Quilter’s Anonymous (Quilt Guild) group. The above photo is the main building which houses the quilting room to the left, a spacious lobby in the middle and the dining hall to the right. It was held at the St. Francis Retreat Center near San Juan Bautista, CA. What an incredible setting.
These next two photos are where the rooms were located that we stayed in, a short walk from the quilting space…and more importantly…the food!
046
045
This photo is taken from the patio in front of the dining hall looking past the quilting room.
053
And this is just a lovely shot from the same patio looking towards the rooms.
052
The next photos are all of the interior of the quilting room.
034
033
031
029
036
This last one is of my sewing station. Looking out the window just to the right of my station, I saw a herd of 5 deer and a flock of turkeys strolling by. Of course, they wouldn’t wait for me to get my camera out.
043
There were a total of 30 very talented quilters as you can see from the sampling of quilts that were hung as they were completed. The food was also wonderful…and it was such a treat to not have to cook or clean up afterwards. This was my first quilting retreat experience and I am planning to go every year from now on because it was such fun. One of the few times that I was not ready to return to my home routine after four days away.

5 thoughts on “

  1. stitchinggrandma November 7, 2014 / 2:18 pm

    what a wonderful setting for a retreat. Bill looked at the wall above your machine and said “she should decorate”, and then I explained your location….giggle….
    I do enjoy seeing what other people bring to the retreat. I see a lot of “computer desk chairs”. Must be very comfortable when compared to the crazy folding chairs we have had at different places. Tempted to bring my own next time! Always pack a chair cushion/pillow to sit on. What did you take with you???

    • oneblockwonderwoman November 8, 2014 / 7:56 am

      I felt as if I took my entire sewing room with me. I purchased one of those Sew-Ezi tables for my machine…what a great investment! That along with my adjustable chair made my sewing station very ergonomic and I was able to sew for more hours than I would have otherwise. About 60 percent of the ladies brought their own chairs. I also brought my Otte light, which was a great help being in that corner, especially after dark. Also all rulers that I thought I would need for the 5 unfinished projects I brought. Next time I’m going to bring a napkin holder or something along those lines to put my rulers in so they are where I can see them rather than buried under stuff. We weren’t allowed to bring personal irons because of concerns of overloading circuits, but there were four excellent ironing stations provided along the walls and out in the lobby…conveniently on the way to the rest room. It’s a good thing I have a large vehicle. The entire storage area and back seat were full.

      • stitchinggrandma November 12, 2014 / 4:35 am

        Good thing you skipped the iron… Were you working on a new project as a group/class or each finishing up your own? Love the napking holder idea. I’ve seen some “ruler holders” done with something like a 2×4; where the keeper of the power tools in the house used a router to cut slots for the rulers. (Oh, in California it is a 1.82 x a 3.76 or something). Should I find a pattern & send it along to Rich for him to craft for you for a lovely Christmas/birthday/wedding anniversary gift?? 🙂

  2. oneblockwonderwoman November 12, 2014 / 1:31 pm

    Actually I already have two of the ruler holders hung on my wall behind the cutting table, so no need for a pattern, but thanks for the offer. They take up too much room sitting on the table.
    We had a strip exchange during the retreat with Christmas themed fabric. Some of us made quilts out of them, including me. I’ll post a photo when I get a chance. I also worked on a bunch of my own projects, and got a lot done.

    • stitchinggrandma November 12, 2014 / 1:35 pm

      Nice to be able to get some things done. I keep starting “new stuff”….bad habit. I can only really work on one thing at a time, and today it seems like “speaker agreements for Aug-Nov 2015. Blech…

Leave a Reply

