One Block Wonder finished….next……

I’ve been gone a long time from blogging, but I have been very busy. This is the fabric that I used to make my latest one-block wonder.
mirror1
And this is the finished project. I’m in love with the jewel tones in this quilt.
out of the box
It was a real challenge to make a bed sized quilt out of this fabric. It took some creative cutting, but it was a lot of fun and worth all the effort required.
This next fabric is for the next OBW and has quite a history. It was ordered several weeks ago and supposed to be delivered by UPS. Since we live in a rural area, usually all deliveries are left behind our locked gate if we aren’t home. Well, the order didn’t come and didn’t come. Finally, I called UPS and they said that it had been left in a “package box” on the street. So I suspect it was stolen. Fortunately, the company I ordered from sent a free replacement order which finally came today. So, I’m off to get to work on it now.
006

5 thoughts on “One Block Wonder finished….next……

  1. stitchinggrandma February 19, 2015 / 4:55 pm

    The boxes fabric is beautiful. The new lost and found fabric already looks like a one block wondee. Is this the raffle quilt prize?

  2. oneblockwonderwoman February 19, 2015 / 11:32 pm

    Those are hatboxes, so I named the quilt “out of the box”
    And indeed, the new fabric was intended for the raffle quilt, but I’ve now rethought it after some feedback. It’s going to be put away for a later date and I’ve already ordered replacement fabric. Finally found the perfect one! It should be here in a few days….hopefully without taking any detours.

    • stitchinggrandma February 20, 2015 / 8:35 am

      I thought the ones you had cut and showed on Facebook looked great!

      • oneblockwonderwoman February 20, 2015 / 9:28 am

        They don’t have the intensity that the lady who won the quilt is looking for. She wanted one with the kind of intensity similar to the one on my banner on the blog, but with blues, purple and a touch of red. Here is a companion fabric to the one I ordered, except what I ordered is a 24X44 inch panel…ordered multiple of them and will just stack them up and cut… that shows these same flowers and butterflies with some blue sky and vines hanging down as if you’re looking through a stained glass window. I must have wiped out their supply, because its not on their website anymore. http://www.equilter.com/product/188475/tiffany-stained-glass-flowers-navygold

  3. oneblockwonderwoman February 20, 2015 / 9:29 am

    Mary, I’ll keep the other one for a future project and tweak it with some of the suggestions I’ve had until it is more pleasing to me.

Leave a Reply

