How I celebrated my birthday

1785
Well, it all relates to quilting of course! I recently joined a group of fellow One Block Wonder fanatics on Facebook. Not being terribly tech saavy, I decided to post some still shots and a description of how I am able to quickly chain piece the hundreds of triangles needed in a OBW without getting any of the pieces scrambled. Of course a picture is worth a thousand words, and my instructions were unclear to many of the quilters, so they requested I do a video. So first thing this morning, I asked my incredible hubby to film my technique. This meant he had to put off leaving for his fishing trip to a local lake (he’s as obsessed with fishing as I am with quilting) for about ten or fifteen minutes, but he did it. Much to my horror, I realized at the very end that he had focused on my face, which I’d asked him not to do. Who is that fat old woman? The camera must have added 20 years as well as 50 pounds to me! But I don’t have the ability or time to figure out how to edit the video, so I decided to instead just grimace and bear it. It only took another two hours to figure out how to post a video on YouTube, since I had evidently at sometime in the ancient past created a YouTube account with my current email address and have no idea of the password. So I tried another email account that I had created a few weeks ago, and I couldn’t sign onto that one either, resulting in signing up for a third email account. That finally worked, and the video successfully uploaded. Who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks? Here is a link in case anyone is interested in either checking out this chain piecing technique or just laughing at that fat old woman at the end of the video.

With all the morning now gone, I buckled down and got the finished blocks for the raffle quilt mentioned in the last post placed on the design wall in a potential design that still needs a bit more tweaking.
002
Then I got the borders on a Double Wedding Ring quilt that I made several months ago and that remains on my UFO list.
003
So, it’s been a wonderful day. And the incredible husband, who was supposed to be back from fishing and hour ago, is going to take me to dinner.

11 thoughts on “How I celebrated my birthday

  1. Quilting Nurse February 28, 2015 / 6:35 pm

    I have seen these quilts up close and personal, and they are beautiful. My favorite is the ring quilt as the colors are rich and elegant. I am privileged to be able to quilt with Carolyn weekly and sometimes more often. Mona

    • oneblockwonderwoman March 29, 2015 / 2:33 pm

      Sorry, I didn’t acknowledge your comment. Mea culpa, my quilting buddy.

  2. stitchinggrandma March 1, 2015 / 5:59 am

    Excellent video!! Very clear instructions. πŸ™‚ I will share this on my blog by “reblogging” it.

  3. stitchinggrandma March 1, 2015 / 6:05 am

    Reblogged this on stitchinggrandma and commented:
    Check out the ONEBLOCKWONDERWOMAN – she has a great video embeded on her blog on how to “Chain Piece” the one-block-wonder and avoid mixing up your pieces. She has made about 15 of this style quilt and is very efficient in her method.

  4. quilt32 March 1, 2015 / 6:34 am

    This is a very good video. What I noticed most on the video was your lovely work room and well organized areas, including pretty boxes to put the patches in.

    • oneblockwonderwoman March 1, 2015 / 1:04 pm

      Why thank you for noticing my wonderful quilting studio. It used to be our guest room, but my special husband was kind enough to build and arrange the pieces I needed to make it the perfect space after I had been inspired by a class at the Houston quilt show a couple of years ago. (you can see before & after photos in a much earlier post. I find it difficult to work amongst chaos. Also thanks for the compliment on the video. I have the best hubby.

  5. Katy Hunt April 26, 2015 / 10:16 pm

    Thanks for this, I didnt understand when u explained it on the fb site πŸ™‚

    • oneblockwonderwoman April 27, 2015 / 4:23 pm

      I’m glad it’s more clear to you now and I hope it is helpful to you too. Thank you for paying a visit to my blog. Don’t forget to submit a suggestion in the “Name This Quilt” contest. I’m excited to see what everyone comes up with.

  6. lisalovesquilting June 6, 2015 / 2:53 pm

    I’m facinated facinated with how these quilts look. I haven’t made any yet. Your video was great

    • oneblockwonderwoman June 13, 2015 / 9:20 am

      Thank you so much, Lisa. I’m glad that you enjoyed the video. I apologize for not getting back to you sooner, but I have been super busy/very ill, for the last two weeks. I haven’t even been in my sewing room for 3 days! That’s pretty bad for me. But things are getting back to just the normal chaos now. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

