What a surprise…another One Block Wonder In the Works

006
This lovely Sunflower fabric is the next One Block Wonder I’ve started working on. It is a challenge hosted by a One Block Wonder group I follow on Facebook. The powers that be picked 6 different fabrics, and the members that want to participate get to pick one fabric, make a OBW out of it, and then we’ll post our finished results on the FB page just to see how different the same fabric can be when using this technique and the unique flair each quilter puts into their quilts.

I certainly didn’t need to sign up for this challenge as I have about a dozen UFOs waiting to be completed, but I am hopelessly hooked on OBWs.

Here are my blocks. The design still needs a lot of major tweaking, but that’s my favorite part of the process. It feels a little like painting without the mess and clean-up.
005

14 thoughts on “What a surprise…another One Block Wonder In the Works

  1. stitchinggrandma March 29, 2015 / 4:23 pm

    Wow; I didn’t expect to see so much green come out in these blocks. The red really pops!!! And I am surprised by the blue in the background which is really “hiding” in the main fabric. Nice job. I saved all your “alignment” notes for this fabric. I can’t even think about starting until I knock out my QOV currently under construction and get it and 2 others QUILTED……deadlines be darn!

    • oneblockwonderwoman March 30, 2015 / 2:45 pm

      You really need to come use my long arm…you could whip out the quilting process in nothing flat.
      I think I’m going to pick up the blue in the main border that I float the quilt on, if I can find just the right fabric.

      • stitchinggrandma March 31, 2015 / 4:30 am

        I should start planning my schedule to coincide with yours!! To bad the grandkids didn’t go back to that base in California, I could tie it all together. My next trip is to see them, in May finally; and in early August. I will save my KING SIZE that I have been waiting to put the last 2 borders on and come visit you after I turn 59.5 and can get to my 401K. I’ll try out your machine before I spend that first “check” from retirement fund and invest in my own! (I should have saved my Jean $ for a down payment!)

      • oneblockwonderwoman April 2, 2015 / 7:05 pm

        That would be fun! But that’s quite a way off. I don’t suppose you could take it to a quilt show and ask one of the vendors if you could load it on their machine and see how nice it works?

  2. mothercat2013 March 30, 2015 / 12:50 am

    Ooh, a kindred spirit – I just posted a few days ago about how infatuated I am by OBWs 🙂 They’re such fun to do, I love seeing the different results and how the fabric morphs into something new and wonderful – I find it quite exhilarating! When I saw your mention of a Facebook group I went searching for it, and discovered it’s a closed group – can you tell me if there’s any way of being able to join it? I’m busy trying to finish off my March project for A Lovely Year of Finishes before the deadline on 31 March, and once I’ve done that I’m returning to the OBWs – I suspect that one of them may well become my April project …

    • oneblockwonderwoman April 2, 2015 / 7:16 pm

      Thank you for checking out my blog. I think I can have you added to that group on FB. I’ll just have to ask my sister-in-law how to do it. This is my favorite technique for making quilts, although I do love to do more traditional ones as well. I love that you never really know how it is going to turn out when you start cutting. I’m going to run over and check out your blog too.

      • mothercat2013 April 2, 2015 / 8:15 pm

        Thank you! Having just started sewing together the hexagons for my April project, I am even more fascinated by the way it’s turning out – as you said, you don’t really know when you start cutting what the end result is going to look like, which is definitely part of the appeal for me 🙂

      • stitchinggrandma April 3, 2015 / 5:01 am

        In order to be “added” to the facebook one block wonder quilt forum page, you must either “be friends” already on facebook or share your email address. For OBWWoman-there is a space on the top of the page far right to insert the address or the facebook user identity. Look for the “about” where it says closed group there is a box to fill in.

      • oneblockwonderwoman April 4, 2015 / 12:15 pm

        Thanks, Mary. She sent me her name, so I just friended her on FB. As soon as she accepts, I’ll add her to the group.

  3. Quilting Nurse March 30, 2015 / 9:18 am

    Wow! How lovely. Sure is colorful and has an Hawaiian feel to it.

    • oneblockwonderwoman March 30, 2015 / 2:46 pm

      Aloha :). Thanks. I think it’s going to be fabulous. I did some more tweaking to make it flow better.

  4. Judy Morris April 21, 2015 / 11:25 am

    Thank you for your posts, and especially for the fabric before cutting shots and then the finished quilt shots! I love this pattern and all of it’s variations. Must put this on my to-do list! Somewhere after embroidering linens, updating apron embroideries, …. Well you get the idea!! To many projects and just not enough time!

    • oneblockwonderwoman April 26, 2015 / 4:23 pm

      And thank you for visiting my blog. There is always so many projects to do and so little time, even when you’re retired as I am. This is one of the reasons the motto on my blog is Housework is for those who don’t quilt.

Leave a Reply

