“Name This Quilt” Contest

003
This is my latest “nearly finished” project (just one side of the binding left to be handsewn) which I started about a year and a half ago. It is done in a “Radiant Star” pattern by Eleanor Burns which I started in a class at a local quilt shop. It has become my most favorite quilt that I have ever made, replacing even a one-block wonder made several years ago which is now a close second. I love to name my quilts, but can’t decide on what I should call this one, so I thought I would encourage feedback from readers of this blog. The prize for the winning entry is a still-in-the-package “Splash” rotary cutter by Olfa. If you’re not familiar with this type of cutter, the blade is changed with just a flick of the thumb…no more struggling with trying to figure out which way to put the parts back together. A real time and frustration saver.
The rules for the contest are simple. Just post your name for this quilt in the reply section of this blog on or before June 1st, 2015. The winner will be chosen purely subjectively by me, oneblockwonderwoman. A hint, I love humorous names and plays on words. For instance, I once named a flowery strip quilt that I made for a great-niece “Rows Garden” because the name just made me laugh. I like more serious names as well that really fit the quilt. You may enter more than one name. And that’s all there is to it. Time permitting, I will post the winning name the week of June 1st and get your rotary cutter off in the mail as soon as I get a mailing address from the winner.
I’m looking forward to seeing all of the creativity I know quilters possess. Thank you in advance for participating, and feel free to share this contest with your fellow quilters.

19 thoughts on ““Name This Quilt” Contest

  1. Brook Oliver April 26, 2015 / 5:41 pm

    Yellow Built Star.

  2. stitchinggrandma April 26, 2015 / 5:57 pm

    Bill said it reminds him of a star in space. The first blue border is the other stars in the solar system…..Who is at the center of the Solar System? I say it almost looks like God’s Star

  3. Janet Hartje April 26, 2015 / 6:17 pm

    When I first looked I immediately thought sunflower. So I’m saying Sunflower gets the Blues! I love blue and yellow in combination, lovely quilt!

    • oneblockwonderwoman April 27, 2015 / 4:20 pm

      Very interesting submission. Thanks for visiting my blog and the compliments on the quilt.

  4. Juanita April 26, 2015 / 6:34 pm

    Rippling Diamonds

    • oneblockwonderwoman April 27, 2015 / 4:24 pm

      Thank you for the great suggestion. Can’t wait to see who wins. 🙂

  5. Lovie Ball April 27, 2015 / 8:33 pm

    Colors reminded me of the northern lights(Aurora borealis). My suggestions are, “Northern Star”, or “Radiant Aurora”.

Leave a Reply

