After a forced hiatus…

Our internet service has been totally unrealiable lately, so I haven’t had a chance to post…so I’ve just had to quilt, quilt, quilt instead!  What a shame…everyone say it with me, “Waaaa waaa”.  I’ve gotten a lot done, but I’m just going to share the current project that I’m really excited about, then I’ll be gone again for two weeks or so since we are going to be traveling to a family reunion in Oregon to see family that I haven’t seen for 10 to 40 years.  I’m excited about the trip, but can’t figure out how to squeeze my quilting studio into our little 8 foot camper.  I guess I’ll have to be satisfied with just taking along several small quilts that need the binding handsewn.

About that project that has me so excited:  It’s from a book called “A Few of my Favorite Scrap Quilts” by Christiane Meunier and it is named Joanne’s Quilt. I first saw the quilt when one of the quilters in my local sewing group donated some leftover blocks to the group to be sewn into a charity quilt.  I just loved the little lapquilt that resulted and immediately borrowed the book so I could make one for myself.  The quilt is made from only one block, and that block when seen by itself is ho-hum, no big deal.

002

Nice, but nothing spectacular…until you put it together with at least four other blocks.

001

Ho-hum no longer!  After I made the first four blocks, I just couldn’t stop and got all the pieces cut and all the half-square triangles ready to be squared up.  But now I have to finish a small One Block Wonder (that is barely visible to the left in the second photo) that I had already started so that I can free up my design wall.  The quilt calls for using scraps, which is ideal for me because my scrap bins are overflowing.  Once all the blocks are made, the blocks should be arranged so that the different colors and different shades of similar colors kind of fade in and out of each other.  I’m really excited to get the blocks assembled and up on the wall, but alas, have to finish the OBW first and still have to start packing for our trip.  I can hardly tear myself away, but I’m sure we’ll have a good time once we hit the road.

3 thoughts on “After a forced hiatus…

  1. quilt32 August 4, 2015 / 8:28 am

    You’re right – that block definitely goes from ho-hum to great. I’ll have to try this one.

    • oneblockwonderwoman August 4, 2015 / 4:35 pm

      It’s really quite simple. Just a lot of half-square triangles. I just can’t seem to escape half-square triangles. 🙂

  2. Quilting Nurse August 6, 2015 / 5:06 pm

    I have seen this up close and personal and it is very lovely.

Leave a Reply

