A Well-Deserved Lazy Day

hall quilt show

Yesterday was our little rural quilting group’s annual quilt show.  Sadly, the only photo I got was this one which is a peek into the Hall where we meet to quilt and learn from one another.  I was just so busy the whole day, that I didn’t even think of taking more photos.  The one you can see just inside the front door is the hand-quilted “Railroad Crossing” pattern that we worked on from last December till April.  It will be raffled off next month at the annual Country Faire that will be held at the Hall.  The proceeds go to the scholarship fund set up to benefit the kids in our community who choose to go on to higher education.

The Hall was built in the 1850s and first served as the Shiloh Baptist Church.  The first school in the area used to be across the street but is no longer there.  A group in our community have worked hard to preserve this wonderful little building where we have a myriad of community events including professional musicians coming in for concerts, a monthly potluck, art class, and our quilting group.  There used to be line-dancing classes, but sadly the man in charge of that has passed on.

At the show, I was on duty from noon until seven p.m., where I got a chance to partake in the potluck that was part of the show.  My job was to hand out programs at the door along with gloves so that no quilts would be damaged by people wanting to pet them.  I was also available to answer any questions people had.  I found that I had to take people’s potluck dishes and hand them off to someone else to take to the food area when people started wandering around the show with them in their hands.  Yikes!!   In the middle of the busiest time, the 4-H group showed up for their tour as well, which was also part of my assignment.  Boy, that was like herding cats.  Because the Hall is infested with bats, part of that “country charm”, it was necessary to hang the show first thing in the morning, and take it down at 9 in the evening.  No one wants bat guano on their quilts.  Fortunately, others were in charge of hanging it, but my hubby and I stuck around to help take it down.  So we got home at 10 o’clock, absolutely exhausted, but happy.  It was a great show.

Monday, I had spent the entire day at the quilt guild I belong to taking a class on making a Pineapple quilt without paper piecing.  It was absolutely wonderful, and the technique is incredibly easy.  I’ll share more about that in a few days when I have more energy. Tuesday was our day “in town” and Wednesday I was at the Hall cleaning in preparation for the quilt show.  Thursday we had a memorial service for a friend to attend.  What a busy week!  So I decided I deserved a day of quilt therapy today.  I didn’t get all that much done, but I’m going to share a peek at the progress I’ve made on the never-ending half-square triangle quilt.

018

I got another 200 HSTs sewn and cut today, but most of them still need to be squared up.  I think I’ve got about 500 more to go.  Better get back to work.

4 thoughts on “A Well-Deserved Lazy Day

  1. stitchinggrandma September 20, 2015 / 4:43 am

    The prize quilt is stunning! The colors are vivid! You do deserve a rest~!!~ Sounds like a great show. I know it is so important to choose carefully those jobs we “volunteer” for. Bet those bats keep the mosquitoes under control but they creep me out. The “train club” has them between the rafters and the drop ceiling, and before they open to the public in November I make the guess clean up!

  2. quilt32 September 20, 2015 / 6:17 am

    I enjoyed your description of your day at the show, especially the term, “like herding cats”! I’ve been in some situations like that.

    I’d be very interested in the pineapple without paper piecing.

    • oneblockwonderwoman September 21, 2015 / 12:55 pm

      Thanks, Lillian. Hopefully I can get to posting more on the Pineapple on Wednesday

Leave a Reply

