Scrap Dance Top Done

A few months ago, I signed up to do a mystery quilt Quilt Along at the blog From My Carolina Home.  (https://frommycarolinahome.wordpress.com/)  It was supposed to be finished by September, and I couldn’t figure out why it was taking me so long to complete mine.  I was following the directions to make a twin sized quilt, and it seemed like there were just an endless number of pieces to cut and sew together.  Once I started putting blocks up on the design wall, I figured out why it was taking forever.  The directions actually made a queen sized quilt!

Here is a close up of one of the blocks, showing that I ended up using two different background fabrics because I ran out of the swirly looking one about two-thirds into the project.  Fortunately, I had two fabrics with very similar colors in my stash.  The rest of the quilt was made totally from scraps, and even though there are so many pieces, it didn’t even make a dent in my scrap bins.

008

Here is a photo of the completed top:

006

I just love how this quilt turned out.  It was worth all the effort put into it, including having to tear out one row of one of the blocks after the top was completed because the HSTs in that row were facing the wrong direction and ruined the pattern in that section.  At least I found it before it was quilted and bound.

Still knocking names for it around in my head.  One is “No Kitchen Sink” and another is “Quiltaholic goes Scrap Happy”, but we’ll see.  Now I have to go back to half square triangle hell (see 1280 HSTs on the wall post previously) that I took a break from a couple of weeks ago in order to complete this top.  So, stand by, I might actually finish that quilt soon.  One can always hope.

15 thoughts on “Scrap Dance Top Done

  1. Barbara B. Walters October 8, 2015 / 1:20 pm

    Love the fussy cut square.

    • oneblockwonderwoman October 8, 2015 / 3:42 pm

      I’m blessed to have my own long arm machine, so I’ll do it myself. Paying someone else has never been in my budget. I’ve only had to long arm for a little over a year. Previously, I did all my quilting on my domestic machine, even king sized ones that I had made. I compare it to wrestling an elephant.

      • Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread October 8, 2015 / 4:54 pm

        You are one lucky woman. 🙂 I carried my last elephant to a long arm quilter and smiled all the way home. Now I’m waiting to see it. 🙂

      • stitchinggrandma October 9, 2015 / 5:12 am

        I keep thinking there is a long arm in my future. I have the space….now I have to decide if my 401k will allow for it, and still leave me enough money to live to 110 ! Hubby said that I should book a flight once a quarter to visit you and “rent time” on your machine, and do all my tops, get a visit and I still wouldn’t spend as much as the cost of a machine! I told him your guest room is now the quilting room! Silly man, he doesn’t fly cross country to borrow a wrench, he goes and buys the wrench he needs for 1 time.

  2. oneblockwonderwoman October 8, 2015 / 3:37 pm

    I love the girls too. There is one fussy cut square in there that is a cat, which is why dear hubby says he does like the quilt because he’s allergic. 🙂

  3. stitchinggrandma October 9, 2015 / 5:21 am

    So, I studied and studied your blocks and recognized so many of those pieces left from our purple LOG cabin quilt for Cathi! You have such a beautiful balance of brights and darks. Your placements are great. I just looked at the original cutting instructions, and it was calling for 500 background 2.5″ and and 571 scrappy 2.5″ squares. I would love to have EQ7 and put this on the screen and see the results. Right now, I have an ABUNDANCE of 2″ and 1.5″ squares. In fact, I am trimming up 1.5″ HST that are bonus triangles from my last Bonnie Hunter mystery quilt. Trimmed 100 last night, probably have 600 more! My crazy brain was pushing me in the direction of making this same layout in 2″. Must check neutrals before I consider it! My baby quilt I had to add borders to (9×9 layout) to make it “big enough”. It finished around 40×40.

    • oneblockwonderwoman October 10, 2015 / 10:02 am

      California’s quilting gadget queen (that would be me) recently bought EQ7. Quilt in a Day had them on a can’t resist sale with free shipping! I have not explored it as much as I’d like to. But that gives you another reason to come visit at least once a year. We’d love to have you, and the rent for my machine is reasonable (you’d just have to put up with us). Actually, I purchased my longarm for only $5,000, which is still a lot, but doable for me and well worth it IMHO. We didn’t have the space, but who needs a formal dining room? Most of the time we eat in front of the TV and when we have company, we are either on the patio or at the breakfast table. Plus, if we had the desire, it’s not that hard to take the frame apart and to put it back up when we’re done.

    • oneblockwonderwoman October 10, 2015 / 10:09 am

      Oh, I also wanted to say that I can’t believe how many strips I had left over from Cathi’s quilt, but they sure have come in handy.

  4. quilt32 October 9, 2015 / 11:51 am

    I love this quilt – it definitely was worth the time and effort.

      • Carla October 13, 2015 / 9:38 am

        Oh boy, see my reply below (it was sent before I read this one) 🙂
        Carla

  5. Carla October 13, 2015 / 9:38 am

    Is this one of the patterns available if I win the quilt drawing? I absolutely love it, but of course, I’ve been partial to scrap quilts for a very long time. It’s beyond beautiful, Carolyn!

    • oneblockwonderwoman October 13, 2015 / 3:31 pm

      Thanks, Carla. Absolutely I would make it for the winner if that’s what they chose. It really wasn’t that difficult. I always have trouble making pieces go in the proper direction. Just hope you don’t want a king size! LOL.

Leave a Reply

