Back In The Saddle again

026

Spring is here in the Central Coast of California.  We were blessed so far with near normal rainfall this rainy season after years of severe drought.  This photo of the wisteria over our patio is the best bloom we’ve had in years.  The honey bees are having a heyday buzzing about the gorgeous blossoms.

Spring is one of the reasons why my poor blog has been ignored for the last few months.  I’ve been busy with getting the garden cleaned up, including pruning around 60 rosebushes and 24 fruit trees.  Also we have trays of tomato seedlings that will be ready to go in the garden in another 6 weeks or so.  I still have to get the other vegetables ready to go in.  Time is running out.  It always seems time is running out.  Since I’m the volunteer bookkeeper for the little country church that we belong to, I’ve also been busy getting the end of the year/tax season chores dealt with as well as our personal tax information.  But that is all finished and I can return to the “normal” chaos.

Don’t think I have ignored my quilting though!  I have started and finished several projects in the last few months.  This is a photo of the table topper and the back of it that I made for my quilting buddy’s birthday.  She loves her “girls” as she’s named her chickens.

005006

I also finished the Half Square Triangle Hell quilt that I was complaining about earlier.  Here is a photo of the ho-hum original block, and the blockbuster secondary pattern that one gets in the finished product (the pattern is called Joanne’s Quilt).002002

One of the other projects that I worked on was making an eight foot by 4 foot banner at the request of the local Episcopal church’s vicar.  I forgot to take a photo of it after it was finished, but here is a photo of it partially done pinned horizontally on the design wall.  There are 3 of the Celtic crosses evenly spaced over the 8 foot length and it is bordered all the way around in black.005

There are several more projects that I have done, but now I’ve got to get back to getting chores done so I can spend the rest of the day working on another medallion quilt that has me stumped as to which pieced border to add next.

4 thoughts on “Back In The Saddle again

  1. stitchinggrandma March 21, 2016 / 6:06 pm

    Thanks for sharing your projects. I do love your HST project!!! I am working on 1430 HST….last 300 still need squared up. 🙂

  2. oneblockwonderwoman March 22, 2016 / 10:43 am

    Thanks. You have my deepest sympathy on your HST project. I saw all the pieces and had to just scroll on, the makings of nightmares. Seriously, I just spent two weeks working on an interwoven border that had a gazillion tiny HSTs for my latest project. So my vow to never make another HST is in jest because they are such a useful component and really are easy to make, just tedious to make so many.

  3. quilt32 March 22, 2016 / 12:57 pm

    The church banner is beautiful, but I have to say that my favorite is the chicken table runner – front and back.

    • oneblockwonderwoman March 23, 2016 / 4:24 pm

      Thank you so much. I do love the chickens myself, but like so many other projects, you have a great idea after it’s already done. I wish I had scaled down the chicken pattern and put another four smaller chickens in the middle of the quilt in addition to the big girls along the outside. That’s why I’ll never get all the quilts made that I want to try. Just too many great patterns out there.

Leave a Reply

