Stitching Outside the Lines

006

At my local quilt guild retreat last fall, we had a strip exchange of 2 1/2 inch strips in fall colors.  I have been working on a quilt utilizing those strips that is a simple four-patch and half-square triangle design.  The above photo is some of the paired strips I had  left over after making all the four patches.  Originally, I just tossed them in my little bin that holds all 2 1/2 inch pieces to be used in future projects….then I got to thinking…what if????

What if I cut the paired strips so that they formed 4 1/2 inch squares and then stack two squares on top of each other right sides together and make a half-square triangle out of them.  Since I evidently can never have enough half square triangles in my quilting life, I decided to try it.  Here is the result:

012

Very interesting.  Then I squared them up to 3 1/2 inches and started cutting up more paired strips and making HSTs out of them.  I tried putting them together in a few directions, but really liked this one the best.
013

If you look carefully, you can see the outer pieces  give a mitered corner effect.

Here is what happens when I put another set of four next to the original set:

014

I can imagine if you used fewer patterns with maybe a little more contrast that this might make an interesting quilt top.  In the above photo, if I had used a different fabric in the middle, then the tiny HSTs would have formed a more distinct windmill look.  Food for thought for future messing around with this technique.

As a disclaimer, I’m sure someone else must have tried this before, but I’ve never seen anything quite like it.  It’s a great way to use up leftovers or even to try a more planned look.  Have fun playing.

 

6 thoughts on “Stitching Outside the Lines

  1. stitchinggrandma April 12, 2016 / 7:55 am

    It is awesome the way this turned out! You need to “copyright” your method!! As a minimum, get your name on the photo’s so nobody “steals” them!!! We will have to try a few of these when you visit!

    • oneblockwonderwoman April 12, 2016 / 5:26 pm

      I don’t know how to put my name on them. Do you do that through Flickr? I’m still using media just through WordPress.

      • stitchinggrandma April 12, 2016 / 5:55 pm

        What are you using for photos? It is called a watermark. I do it on my phone when I take a photo, but if you are using a traditional camera, you may be able to do it with photo editor software

      • oneblockwonderwoman April 13, 2016 / 10:20 am

        Thanks. I’m using a camera but have Photoshop.

  2. Mona Johansen May 1, 2016 / 6:25 pm

    These blocks are beautiful, so original, so creative.

Leave a Reply

