Dog Bites Quilt Show

041

Friday was our annual quilt show at the circa 1890s Hall.  Our quilt show is not judged and there is no voting on favorite quilts, but just is an opportunity to showcase local talent and vintage quilts from local residents.  It also encourages people to buy raffle tickets for the handquilted queen sized quilt that you can get a glimpse of just to the right of the doorway.  One hundred percent of the proceeds from the raffle goes toward scholarships for our local young people.

As you can see, my Fannie Mae von Nubbinwagger was front and center and generated interested from everyone who came by.  There was the best turn out for this event since I became involved ten years ago in the quilting group that meets at the hall to work on the scholarship quilt and various charity quilts.  The event was to open at 2 PM, but our first group came at 1 o’clock.  They were folks from out of the area who were driving by to check out the fire damage from the recent Chimney Fire that I posted about a couple of weeks ago.  They happened to see our signs out on the road, and came out of curiosity.  Of course, we welcomed them in early, and the folks continued to come on a constant stream until 7 o’clock, when we took a break for a potluck dinner and to draw for the donated door prizes for those who purchased quilt raffle tickets that day.  My assignment was to welcome people at the door, hand out programs and “white gloves” for those who wanted to pet the pretty quilts and answer any questions.  I was kept hopping the entire day.

Here is a better photo of our scholarship raffle quilt.  It is done in the Carolina Lily pattern. 007

The rest of the photos are of the quilts on display.  I hope you enjoy the photo tour.005

006009010011012013015016017018019020021022023024025026028029031032033035036037

The handquilting on this last one was finished while the quilter was evacuated from her home because of the fire.

9 thoughts on “Dog Bites Quilt Show

  1. stitchinggrandma September 19, 2016 / 2:49 pm

    WOW – great show!! I am guessing I counted 5 of those quilt as creations by YOU!!! I love that Fannie was “guarding” the door!! May I share your blog post as a REBLOG?

    • oneblockwonderwoman September 19, 2016 / 3:31 pm

      Well, there were actually 7 or 8. Can’t remember for sure.
      It was a great show. There is a lot of talented quilters out here in the middle of nowhere.

      • oneblockwonderwoman September 19, 2016 / 3:40 pm

        I missed the last half of your comment. Feel free to share. I went back and counted. There are 7 of my quilts included.

  2. Grace9 September 19, 2016 / 2:56 pm

    Thanks for the photo tour. I sure would have liked to have been there. That show is such fun and the quality of the workmanship is excellent. Next time a note of the makers names would be nice for those of us who know some of the quilters.

    • oneblockwonderwoman September 19, 2016 / 3:38 pm

      Grace, thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog. Sorry for not including all the information, but I didn’t mention the names because I didn’t get permission and I don’t know if some of the ladies want their names known by the public since blogs are accessible to everyone out there in the invisible world of the internet. If you message me on my Facebook page, I will be happy to message you back with that info. I don’t know which of my quilting friends named Grace that you are. 🙂

  3. Cindy Wagner September 19, 2016 / 4:35 pm

    Beautiful beautiful quilt show. My mom and I loved every single quilt. We will definitely be returning next year. Thank all of you for putting on this amazing show.
    Cindy

    • oneblockwonderwoman September 19, 2016 / 5:41 pm

      Thank you on behalf of all those that put in a lot of hard work to make it a success.
      And thank you for stopping by and commenting on my blog.

  4. Liz N September 19, 2016 / 6:02 pm

    Oh my gosh! Look at Fannie! That’s fantastic. It had to be your own design and it’s brilliant. I shouted ‘squirrel’ when I saw it to see her run to the window. Fantastic quilts all, thanks so much for sharing. Love, Liz

    • oneblockwonderwoman September 20, 2016 / 4:58 pm

      Thanks for stopping by the blog. Actually, this quilt was done from a photo. I flew back in May to see Mary, and we went and took a 4 day class while staying at the teacher’s Lake house in the Poconos. It was a sacrifice, but someone had to do it. The teacher blew the photo I had sent her up to 8 1/2 x 11, then overlaid it with a clear grid pattern. Each of the grid squares represents a 2″ square on the quilt. Many of the 2″ squares have multiple other fabrics sewn in layers on top and then retrimmed to 2″ in order to achieve the coloration effects. It was the most challenging quilt I’ve ever done, but the satisfaction in having completed it and having it come out so well was worth it.

Leave a Reply

