Heading West Once Again

003

In January I made a western themed quilt to auction off at a fundraiser  for our rural museum that the community here has been working on for many years.   See my last post, “Playing with Potholders” to view that quilt.  The quilt was so popular that there was quite the bidding war, so the powers that be asked if I could make another one to auction off at their next fundraiser on March 11th.  This time the fundraiser will be dinner and a dance and they are calling the event “Boot Scootin’ Boogie”.  The request was to include a covered wagon in the design, so I set out to search for covered wagon fabric.  It was nearly impossible to find.  I was only able to find one piece of antique fabric, and it just wasn’t what I wanted.  So I decided I would try an embroidered design as the centerpiece since I have an embroidery machine and  digitizing software on my computer.  Everything I tried came out too small.  I guess I could have done applique, but I am too lazy to take that on.  So I searched and searched, and I finally found the panel in the photo above at Ebay.  I just love the old west look of the panel and the composition is simply charming.  It came complete with the printed “border” of triangle squares and the wood look border.  I don’t know the manufacturer since the selvedge only has the title “Point of View” on it.

I plan on adding some sort of additional pieced border at the top and bottom and then adding blocks that I will embroider with a covered wagon, a stagecoach, a ranch scene, a town scene that I purchased and perhaps some cattle and/or horses, then some additional borders..  I haven’t decided exactly what will look right yet, but I need to get a move on since March 11 is right around the corner.

This next photo is the fabric choices that I have to use in the rest of the quilt.  You can see the covered wagon embroidery that I experimented with lying on top of the fabric I intended to use as the backdrop for the embroidery.  I thought it had a nice prairie look to it.  I might also design some additional detail to go into the embroidery design like mountains or something.  Anyway, I was really excited to find the wagon wheel fabric right in front on our trip to town yesterday.

002

Time to get my creative juices flowing and get this quilt done.

8 thoughts on “Heading West Once Again

  1. stitchinggrandma February 18, 2017 / 1:20 pm

    Can’t wait to see how this develops. Nothing like a deadline to get you moving! It really is a nice assortment of fabrics.

    • oneblockwonderwoman February 19, 2017 / 12:03 pm

      Thank you, Mary. I can’t wait to see how it develops either because I am having trouble envisioning it. Usually I know exactly how I want something to look. Sure hope it all works. Hope you are having fun with your grands.

      • stitchinggrandma February 19, 2017 / 2:09 pm

        Still on the way. Are you using eq7??

      • oneblockwonderwoman February 20, 2017 / 8:15 am

        No not using EQ. I don’t have enough time to get through the learning curve that I still have even after the class I took. I really need to spend time practicing the things I learned in that class before I start a new quilt

  2. Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread February 18, 2017 / 2:44 pm

    Amazing. I will look forward to seeing the finished projects. If only they sold the tickets on line, I’d sure buy some. 🙂

    • oneblockwonderwoman February 19, 2017 / 12:09 pm

      Thank you, Judy. Unfortunately it is a silent auction so you really need to be present to win. However, in Oct-Dec, I offer chances to win a raffle quilt to benefit my church’s youth group where the winner gets to pick whatever size, style and colors that they want the quilt to be. I make it and send it off to the winner when finished. If you like, I’ll alert you when those tickets are available. The first one I did like that went to someone I’ve never met that lives in Texas. I worked with her via email to nail down exactly what she wanted and she was thrilled with the outcome.

  3. Quilting Nurse February 19, 2017 / 7:59 am

    Looks like it will be another beautiful quilt as all of yours have been.

    • oneblockwonderwoman February 19, 2017 / 12:10 pm

      I can only hope so. Working on the embroidery today, which has turned out to be really time consuming. Hopefully you can see the progress in person very soon.

Leave a Reply

