At Home Along The San Antonio

At Home

This is a photo of the quilt that I posted photos of my fabric choices and a story about a few weeks ago called “Heading West Once Again.”  This is another quilt that I’m donating to a fundraiser for our local museum.  The blocks on the top and bottom of the quilt are all embroidered blocks that I did on my Janome embroidery machine and depict icons that fit into the history as well as the present here in our rural community.  Yes, we have a large herd of elk (the bottom block, second from the left) that can be seen hanging around frequently. The title of this post is also the title of the quilt in a nod to the river that runs through our community.

I really had a great time searching out appropriate embroidery patterns to use, selecting the right colors and stitching them out.  We have a covey of quail that has made our property their home and they conveniently showed up outside my quilting room window so that I could study their coloration when I was selecting thread colors.  It’s really funny, but the fabric I used for the embroidered blocks’ background actually says it’s “Beach Grass”, but it gives the flavor of gently rolling hills with scrubby brush which is typical of the valley we live in that runs along the river.

The fundraising dance will be held this coming Saturday, and I hope that this quilt raises a lot of money.  Right now the museum only has one metal building, but the hope is to have a small “town” of various buildings complete with Western facades to recreate the original town.

5 thoughts on “At Home Along The San Antonio

  1. stitchinggrandma March 8, 2017 / 6:31 pm

    Wow, this turned out so well. The embroidery blocks, the fabric choices really kick this up to the “next level”. I love the name you gave to the quilt. Are they going to auction or sell raffle tickets???? Anybody that does machine embroidery will know the sheer number of hours involved to build those top and bottom border blocks. Nice job!

    • oneblockwonderwoman March 12, 2017 / 2:00 pm

      Thanks, Mary. They did a live auction and it brought a nice amount. This one was hard to let go of but it was a worthy cause. I’ve been wanting to incorporate more embroidery into my quilting, and this presented the perfect opportunity.

  2. Quilting Nurse March 9, 2017 / 7:00 am

    I have seen this block up close and the picture doesn’t do it justice. The colors are far more vibrant. The embroidered blocks are so beautiful and make the quilt such a unique piece of art.

Leave a Reply

